pet parent

About “Sharon S”

About:
I’m Sharon and I live near Cheddar, UK with my partner Sam and 3 kids(10, 12, 15 yrs). Sam’s 3 kids live with us part time too. We are new to looking for a pet/house sitter, but have happily hosted people on Workaway International before, and friends enjoy to house sit for us from time to time. We’ve also pet sat for others, so can see things from a sitters perspectives. Friends have enjoyed staying in our quirky, comfy, quiet home, with speedy wifi, right on the edge of The Mendip Hills and hiking distance to the famous Cheddar Gorge.

We are animal and nature lovers and in 2021 we rescued our gorgeous staffie, Bear. We also have 2 cats, 2 guinea pigs and one very old rat.
Bear would not cope well in a kennel as he loves to be curled up on a sofa with humans, and we need someone to take care of him at home so we can go camping occasionally or work the odd festival or two. This would be best suited to a quiet person/couple/family looking to explore the area as more of an exchange.

Home & location: 
Semi-detached 3 bedroom house in a quiet village close to Cheddar, with good size garden. High-sleeper double bed in main bedroom. 2 single beds in second bedroom, 1 single in third bedroom. Older house, colourful, quirky and tidy. Has all essential amenities and creature comforts and more, including high speed wifi. Living room with sofas and dining table and small smart TV.
Very cute cabin in beautiful sunny South facing garden with wood burner and double bed. Sun loungers, fire pit, and seating outside. Swing set with yoga swing, nest swing and aerial hoop.

You may sleep in any room you like, or in the cabin in the garden if you fancy a quiet glamping type experience. (to be decided in advance so we can prep room for you)

5 minute drive to Cheddar attractions (beautiful gorge and caves). Walk up into gorgeous Mendip hills. 2 mins from Mendip Gliding Club. 30 mins drive to Glastonbury, 15 mins to Wells, 30 mins to Weston-super-Mare. 10 minutes from Wookey Hole. Lots of walking, beautiful nature and attractions nearby. Bus to Wells where you can get busses to many places including Bristol, Bath and Glastonbury.

Responsibilities:

  • Feed Bear – morning and evening (nuggets and wet food in fridge) Clean water daily.
    Bear can be left in his bed in the kitchen (with the door closed) for 4-5 hours in the daytime, as well as overnight for 10 -11 hours.

About Bear: Bear is a massively loving, gorgeous boy. He absolutely loves people and kids! He gets excited and sometimes may try to jump up and lick your face(he thinks he’s still a pup, but he is a big boy now!). He is wonderful with kids but could accidentally knock over smaller kids if he jumped up to say hi, so I’d recommend from age 10 upwards (he regularly hangs out with much younger kids, so this is just a precaution). He is super loving and is just the sweetest when he curls up with his head in your lap and whines to demand strokes.
Bear is reactive to other dogs after being bitten by another dog soon after we rescued him. He has never actually hurt another dog, and does have a couple of doggy friends, but sometimes he gets anxious and tries to lunge towards random dogs we pass. We use treats and take a wide birth around other dogs when on walks. However, Bear doesn’t need to go on walks whilst you stay (we’ll make up for it with long walks before & after) and is quite happy having his ball thrown in the garden instead. He sleeps in the kitchen with the door shut and is a good boy at night!! Make sure the side gate to the garden always has the hook on so he doesn’t escape.

  • Apricity is our beautiful black cat. She is an old lady now at 15 years! Spice is our mischievous ginger boy! Feed Apricity & Spice – mornings only (top up kibble and share a sachet of cat food) Top up water
  • My partners children have their 2 boy guinea pigs living with us currently – they get their nuggets, hay and greens(dandelions, grass) from garden daily. Top up drinker when low.
  • I don’t think Smokey, our very old rat, will be with us much longer sadly, but will leave instructions for her if she is.
  • Outdoor plants may need watering if it’s very hot/dry.

I look forward to hearing from anyone who thinks they may be a good fit for our house and pets 🙂

 

 

Posted

Nothing Found
en_USEnglish